Home Reassembled is published
  • Home Reassembled_kuva_pieni[20295]
7 September 2017

The Finnish Cultural Institute for the Benelux, in collaboration with Dutch art publishers Jap Sam Books, presents the essay collection Home Reassembled – On Art, Destruction and Belonging.

The book’s nine essays comment on critical concerns of our time, such as war, homelessness, utopian ideals of free movement, the destruction and rebuilding of cities as well as the ethics of art. The starting point for the book’s texts are the different interpretations of Anssi Pulkkinen’s contemporary artwork, Street View (Reassembled), which is composed of the ruins of a Syrian home.

Street View (Reassembled) is a touring artwork commissioned by the Finnish Cultural Institute for the Benelux, which will be exhibited for the first time in Finland at the Habitare fair from 13 to 17 September. Pulkkinen’s work as well as the related Home Reassembled book form part of Mobile Home 2017, a joint project of the Finnish Cultural and Academic Institutes in Paris, Berlin, London and Brussels that explores the many meanings of home. The international and multidisciplinary team of writers of Home Reassembled include:

Umayya Abu-Hanna:  Journalist

Marwa Al-Sabouni: Architect and writer

Jaakko Hämeen-Anttila: Islam scholar, professor

Hanna Johansson: Art historian, professor

Anssi Pulkkinen: Visual artist

Max Ryynänen: Writer, lecturer

Issa Touma: Visual artist, gallerist, documentary filmmaker

Vincent van Velsen: Critic, curator

Rosa te Velde: Design journalist and researcher

The launch of Home Reassembled will take place in front of Pulkkinen’s creation. The book will be presented by Annukka Vähäsöyrinki from the Finnish Cultural Institute for the Benelux, publisher Eleonoor Jap Sam as well as one of the essayists, Syrian architect and keynote speaker at Habitare, Marwa Al-Sabouni.

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on Twitter

OTHER NEWS

Un recueil d’essais sur la notion du chez-soi et l’appartenance
  • Home Reassembled_kuva_pieni[20295]
7 septembre 2017

L’Institut culturel finlandais publie en partenariat avec la maison d’édition d’art néerlandaise Jap Sam Books un recueil d’essais intitulé Home Reassembled – On Art, Destruction and Belonging.

Les neuf essais constitutifs de cet ouvrage s’attachent à commenter plusieurs questions fondamentales propres à notre époque comme la guerre et la perte du chez-soi, les utopies de la libre circulation, la destruction des villes et leur reconstruction ainsi que l’éthique de l’art. Le livre a pour point de départ les interprétations multiples pouvant être données de l’œuvre d’art contemporain du plasticien Anssi Pulkkinen Street View (Reassembled), constituée des ruines d’une maison syrienne.

Street View (Reassembled) est une œuvre d’art itinérante commandée par l’Institut culturel pour le Benelux qui sera présentée pour la première fois en Finlande du 13 au 17 septembre au Salon Habitare. L’œuvre de Pulkkinen et l’ouvrage Home Reassembled qui y est adossé s’inscrivent dans le projet Mobile Home 2017 commun aux instituts culturels et scientifiques finlandais de Paris, Berlin, Londres et Bruxelles visant à examiner les différentes significations s’attachant à la notion du chez-soi.

Représentatifs d’un éventail diversifié d’approches et issus de plusieurs pays différents, les auteurs ayant participé à la rédaction de cet ouvrage sont :

Umayya Abu-Hanna, journaliste

Marwa Al-Sabouni, architecte et auteure

Jaakko Hämeen-Anttila, chercheur spécialisé dans l’étude de l’islam, professeur d’université

Hanna Johansson, historienne de l’art, professeure d’université

Anssi Pulkkinen, plasticien

Max Ryynänen, auteur, maître de conférences

Issa Touma, plasticien, galeriste, documentariste

Vincent van Velsen, critique d’art, curateur

Rosa te Velde, journaliste et chercheuse spécialisée design

La présentation publique du livre Home Reassembled aura lieu au pied de l’œuvre de Pulkkinen. Le livre sera présenté par Annukka Vähäsöyrinki de l’Institut culturel finlandais pour le Benelux, l’éditrice Eleonoor Jap Sam ainsi que l’un des signataires de l’essai, à savoir l’architecte syrienne Marwa Al-Sabouni, invitée en tant qu’intervenante principale au Salon Habitare.

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on Twitter

AUTRES ACTUALITÉS