MUSIQ’3 Festival: Nordic Vibes
  • logo828x555
18 April 2018

The Musiq’3 Festival is presenting a wide range of Finnish musicians this summer as part of this year’s Nordic Vibes theme. The three-day festival, which takes place at the end of June and the beginning of July, will feature music by leading Finnish artists as well as Finnish musicians who are in the early stages of their international career.

Established in 2011, the festival has from its inception placed an emphasis on bringing classical music to a broad, young and as diverse as possible audience. The festival organisers take pride in their openness and willingness to experiment and aim to present a rich pallet of musical genres.  The festival features choral music, folk music, world music, jazz and even rock sounds.

Finnish composition is showcased strongly, with the festival programme including both Sibelius and Einojuhani Rautavaara. Performing the music of these composers are a drove of leading Finnish musicians such as the Helsinki Chamber Choir (Helsingin Kamarikuoro), Olli Mustonen and Joonas Ahonen. The festival programme also includes lighter music, with a solo concert of fast-paced jazz by Iiro Rantala, a performance by award-winning violinist Kreeta-Maria Kentala who will be bringing Kaustinen’s folk music to the heart of Brussels, and Kimmo Pohjonen who will delight audiences with the furious energy of his accordion.

Musiqu’3 Festival director Benoit Debuyst has absolute faith in the quality of Finnish music and the skill of Finnish musicians:

-In every genre Finnish musicians are making their mark on the international scene. Finnish music makers are bold and break boundaries more readily than further south in Europe, where the boundaries between genres are more tightly upheld. A good example of this is Kreeta-Maria Kentala’s soundtrack Side by Side, in which she combines Bach with Kaustinen’s folk music. Her musical roots and contemporary sensibilities combine naturally without eliminating one or the other. All music genres have their own place in Finland and their co-existence creates a fruitful synergy.

PROGRAMME

Friday 29.6

7 PM Flagey – Studio 4 Opening night 

                                            Kimmo Pohjonen

9.30 PM –  Abbaye de la Cambre

Helsinki Chamber Choir – Vigilia  (vesper)

– 22 chorists

– Niall Chorall (tenor)

– Tuukka Haapaniemi (bass)

– Nils Schweckendiek, conductor

Einojuhani Rautavaara: Vigilia (Vesper)

Pipe organ improvisation: Matthias Lecomte


Saturday 30.6

11 AM, Abbaye de la Cambre

Helsinki Chamber Choir – Vigilia  (matinea)

– 22 chorists

– Niall Chorall (tenor)

– Tuukka Haapaniemi (bass)

– Nils Schweckendiek, conductor

Einojuhani Rautavaara: Vigilia (Vesper)

Urkuimprovisaatio: Matthias Lecomte

12 PM, Flagey – Studio 1

Kreeta-Maria Kentala

Side by side: Bach and folk music from Kaustinen

4 PM, Flagey Studio 1

Joonas Ahonen & Taurus-Quartet

Beethoven & Respighi

5 PM Flagey – Studio 4

Iiro Rantala: Lost Heroes

7 PM Flagey – Studio 4

Kimmo Pohjonen: Entrez dans la transe

9.30 PM  Abbaye de la Cambre

Helsingin kamarikuoro: Madrigali nuovi e antichi


Sunday 1.7

5 PM, Flagey – Studio 4

Olli Mustonen & co: Mustonen & Chostakovitch

Olli Mustonen: Quintette with Piano

Dmitri Chostakovitch: Quintette en sol mn. Op.57

Lilli Maijala, viola

6 PM, Flagey – Studio 1

Joonas Ahonen: ambiances finlandaises

Discover the full program and get your tickets here

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on Twitter

OTHER NEWS

MUSIQ’3 Festival: Nordic Vibes
  • logo828555
18 avril 2018

Le Festival Musiq’3 verra débarquer en début d’été à Bruxelles des musiciens finlandais représentatifs de styles d’une grande diversité, invités à cet événement musical dans le cadre du thème de l’année « Nordic Vibes ». Organisé sur trois jours à la toute fin juin et début juillet, ce festival donnera l’occasion d’entendre de la musique tant d’artistes finlandais de premier plan que d’autres musiciens de Finlande dont la carrière internationale n’en est qu’à ses débuts.

Fondé en 2011, le Festival Musiq’3 met depuis son origine un point d’honneur à faire connaître la musique classique à un vaste et jeune public que les organisateurs de l’événement souhaitent le plus diversifié possible. Revendiquant une volonté d’expérimentation dans la plus grande des ouvertures d’esprit, les initiateurs de Musiq’3 entendent proposer sur scène un éventail aussi haut en couleur que possible en termes de genres musicaux. C’est ainsi que le public pourra entendre au cours du festival aussi bien du chant choral, des airs issus de la tradition populaire des pays représentés, de la world music, du jazz que des musiques au son résolument rock.

Les compositeurs finlandais seront fortement présents à cet événement avec notamment des pièces de Sibelius et d’Einojuhani Rautavaara. Pour les interpréter, seront sur scène de nombreux musiciens finlandais de haut vol parmi lesquels il convient de signaler particulièrement le Helsinki Chamber Choir ainsi qu’Olli Mustonen et Joonas Ahonen. Le programme du festival s’attachera également à donner à entendre des musiques plus légères, avec du jazz contemporain rythmé à souhait à l’occasion d’un concert solo d’Iiro Rantala, de la musique populaire traditionnelle de Finlande profonde dans l’esprit du Festival de Kaustinen exceptionnellement interprétée à Bruxelles par la violoniste Kreeta-Maria Kentala, lauréate de nombreux prix artistiques, ou encore des morceaux énergiquement exécutés à l’accordéon par Kimmo Pohjonen, connu pour installer une ambiance qui happe littéralement son public.

Le responsable artistique du Festival Musiq’3 Benoît Debuyst se déclare fermement convaincu par la qualité de la musique finlandaise et la virtuosité des musiciens finlandais :

« Les musiciens finlandais se distinguent sur la scène musicale internationale absolument dans tous les genres musicaux. Les interprètes et compositeurs finlandais sont audacieux et tendent à transgresser avec plus de liberté les limites établies entre styles musicaux que ne le font leurs homologues d’Europe du Sud, où la compartimentation des genres est plus stricte. Parmi les exemples les plus parlants de cet état d’esprit, je pourrais citer le disque Side by Side de Kreeta-Maria Kentala, où celle-ci mêle des compositions de Bach et de la musique folk finlandaise caractéristique du Festival de Kaustinen. Dans les morceaux de Kentala, la tradition et l’époque contemporaine s’unissent tout naturellement sans s’exclure l’une l’autre. Tous les styles musicaux ont leur place en Finlande, et leur coexistence donne naissance à une synergie féconde. »

PROGRAMMATION 

Vendredi 29.6

19h00 Flagey – Studio 4 Concert d’ouverture

                                            Kimmo Pohjonen

21h30 – Abbaye de la Cambre

Helsinki Chamber Choir – Vigilia  (Vespres)

– 22 chorists

– Niall Chorall (ténor)

– Tuukka Haapaniemi (basse)

– Nils Schweckendiek, conducteur

Einojuhani Rautavaara: Vigilia (Vespres)

Improvisation à l’orge : Matthias Lecomte


Samedi 30.6

11h 00, Abbaye de la Cambre

Choeur de Chambre d’Helsinki – Vigilia  (Matines)

– 22 chorists

– Niall Chorall (ténor)

– Tuukka Haapaniemi (basse)

– Nils Schweckendiek, conducteur

Einojuhani Rautavaara: Vigilia (Matines)

Improvisation à l’orge : Matthias Lecomte

12h00, Flagey – Studio 1

Kreeta-Maria Kentala

Side by side: Bach et de la musique folk finlandaise caractéristique du Festival de Kaustinen

16h00, Flagey Studio 1

Joonas Ahonen & Taurus-Quartuor

Beethoven & Respighi

17h00 Flagey – Studio 4

Iiro Rantala: Lost Heroes

19h00 Flagey – Studio 4

Kimmo Pohjonen: Entrez dans la transe

21h30  Abbaye de la Cambre

Helsingin kamarikuoro: Madrigali nuovi e antichi


Dimanche 1.7

17h00, Flagey – Studio 4

Olli Mustonen & co: Mustonen & Chostakovitch

Olli Mustonen: Quintette avec Piano

Dmitri Chostakovitch: Quintette en sol mn. Op.57

Lilli Maijala, viola

18h00, Flagey – Studio 1

Joonas Ahonen: Ambiances Finlandaises

Decouvrez toute la programmation et achetez vos places ici 

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on Twitter

AUTRES ACTUALITÉS