MYTHS AND DEMONS – closing debate
  • 1918 logo complete
MYTHS AND DEMONS – closing debate

Almost 30 years after the end of the Cold War and 15 years after the accession of the states of Central and Eastern Europe to the EU, the European continent remains trapped in an understanding going back more than a century of the nation state as a territorially bounded community, and struggles to implement transnational or even de-territorialized forms of citizenship. What is the future of the European continent 100 years from now?

BOZAR and Archa Theatre (Prague) invite you to Myths and Demons, the closing participative debate of the year-long project 1918 European Dreams of Modernity. 100 Years On. The project was launched in February 2018 with the Daydreaming Nations conference that gathered a variety of artists and intellectuals from across Central and Eastern Europe to share their visions of the centenaries of independence of their home countries after WWI. To mark the end of the project, we would like to question a “sacred triangle” of notions that informed the majority of the debates, meetings and performances that took place throughout the year 2018: Nation, Territory and Citizenship.

PROGRAMME
1. First things first: collaborative workshop
The audience creates images or recordings related to the topic. Visitors co-create the visual atmosphere and the global soundscape of the workshop, leading to a vast sharing of narratives. Technological equipment is managed by the Archa Theatre team and by volunteers from civil society – all citizens, all non-professionals.

2. Key note speech: Two central Europes
Cultural historian and professor Martin C. Putna talks about the dissymmetry in a Europe defined through the ages by the river Rhine (Strasbourg, Brussels, Luxembourg). Where is Central Europe actually?

3. Key note speech: Two countries built from two nations
Belgian writer and philosopher Pieter De Buysser focuses on the (non) common points that appear when comparing Belgium and Czechoslovakia. What does language mean for the identity of the nation? What is happening in minds of people when one of the languages is preferred? This statement invites discussion on a more general level about the triangle of Nation, Territory and Citizenship. What did that mean a hundred years back (looking to the past), and what does that mean now and in the coming decades (looking to the future)?

4. Last but not least: Myths and Demons
The title refers to nationalisms as false imaginations about the coexistence of different kinds, the fear of that coexistence, the new borders, the calling for new borders, the loss of trust by citizens, the repetition of history. Peter De Buysser and Martin Putna invite the experts of the very first conference to a discussion on the future – perceived, dreamt or desired – of the continent.

Free entrance

Registration

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on Twitter

4aNESC_Logo

For a New European Social Contract

House of European History, Brussels, Belgium
The new EUNIC Brussels conference cycle questioning the future of Europe. The ambition of the project is to rethink the social contract, so that it no longer relies on the relationship between citizens and the state but goes beyond this by taking into account the different dimensions of life today and the crucial issues citizens are facing.
WSABD3x828555

Go Commission: Sonya Lindfors & Maryan Abdulkarim – We Should All Be Dreaming

13 October 2018
Beursschouwburg
In 2018, the Finnish Cultural Institute for the Benelux together with Zodiak – center for contemporary dance, SPRING Festival Utrecht and Baltic Circle Festival, commissions a new work by choreographer Sonya Lindfors and writer-activist Maryan Abdulkarim. The work is a combination of workshops, lectures and performances, where choreographers and activists come together, imagining radical utopian common futures. Lindfors and Abdulkarim work closely together with local activists in Utrecht, Brussels and Helsinki.
EdgarLarsen (5) 828x555
Circus

TelepART: Sisus

24-25 August 2018
Lieve Vrouwekerkhof, Amersfoort, the Netherlands
As part of a Europe-wide tour, Finnish circus group Sisus lands in the Netherlands at the Spoffin festival in Amersfoort 24-25 August. During the tour, Sisus performs Mosh Split piece, a 45-minute outdoor show, which is built around a 9.5 meter-high truss structure. This energetic show contains a huge variety of circus skills both in the air and on the ground: trapeze, moshing, rope dancing, partner acrobatics, group spirit, humour and girl power. In the scenery, there is a camper van from which surprising characters and crazy ideas come out following one another. Dresses are made out of toilet paper and hairstyles get their finishing touches with vacuum cleaners.
cock pic 1 credit Nellie de Boer 828x555

TelepART: Samira Elagoz

8-9 August 2018
Tampere Theatre Festival, Finland
Cock, Cock.. Who's There? is an unsettling, touching and private documentary-performance of a young woman's research into intimacy and violence. Through online platforms like Chatroulette and Tinder, and through close encounters Samira Elagoz takes the audience on her journey of regaining power, reinventing autonomous expression of sexuality and attempts to relate to men.

Finnish Cultural Institute for the Benelux
Boomstraat 14/3
1000 Brussels
Belgium

Receive our newsletter

MYTHS AND DEMONS – le débat qui clôture
  • 1918 logo complete
MYTHS AND DEMONS – le débat qui clôture

Près de 30 ans après la fin de la Guerre froide et 15 ans après l’adhésion des pays d’Europe centrale et de l’Est à l’Union Européenne, le continent européen reste englué dans le piège d’une vision – vieille de plus d’un siècle – de l’État-nation défini en référence à une communauté liée à un territoire, et éprouve les plus grandes difficultés à mettre en œuvre des formes transnationales, voire déterritorialisées, de citoyenneté. À quoi ressemblera le continent européen d’ici 100 ans ?

BOZAR et Archa Theatre (Prague) vous invitent à Myths and Demons, le débat participatif qui clôture le projet d’un an 1918 European Dreams of Modernity. 100 Years On. Ce projet a été lancé en février 2018 avec la conférence Daydreaming Nations qui a réuni un large éventail d’artistes et d’intellectuels d’Europe centrale et de l’Est, pour leur permettre de partager leur vision du centenaire de l’indépendance de leur pays d’origine, au lendemain de la Première Guerre mondiale. Pour marquer la fin du projet, nous aimerions remettre en cause le « triangle sacré » Nation, Territoire et Citoyenneté, des concepts qui ont alimenté la majorité des débats, réunions et performances organisés en 2018.

PROGRAMME
1. Pour commencer : un atelier participatif
Le public crée des images ou des enregistrements en rapport avec le thème. Les visiteurs participent et créent ensemble l’ambiance visuelle et le paysage sonore de l’atelier qui donnera lieu à un vaste échange de récits. Le matériel technologique est géré par l’équipe d’Archa Theatre et des bénévoles de la société civile, qui sont tous des citoyens et des non-professionnels.

2. Discours liminaire : Two central Europes
L’historien de la culture et professeur Martin C. Putna évoquera la dissymétrie dans une Europe définie au fil des siècles par le Rhin (Strasbourg, Brussels, Luxembourg). Où se situe en fait l’Europe centrale ?

3. Discours liminaire : Two countries built from two nations
L’écrivain et philosophe belge Pieter De Buysser s’intéresse aux points (non-)communs que révèle une comparaison entre la Belgique et la Tchécoslovaquie. Quelle est l’influence de la langue sur l’identité de la nation ? Que se passe-t-il dans la tête des citoyens lorsqu’une des langues est privilégiée ? Cette présentation invite à un débat plus général sur le triangle Nation – Territoire – Citoyenneté.   Qu’est-ce que cela signifiait il y a cent ans (vision rétrospective) et qu’est-ce que cela signifie aujourd’hui et pour les décennies à venir (vision prospective) ?

4. Last but not least : Myths and Demons
Le titre de l’événement fait référence aux nationalismes, considérés comme des visions erronées de coexistence de natures différentes, la crainte de cette coexistence, les nouvelles frontières, l’appel à de nouvelles frontières, la perte de confiance par les citoyens, la répétition de l’histoire.  Peter De Buysser et Martin Putna invitent les experts de la toute première conférence à un débat sur l’avenir – perçu, rêvé ou souhaité – du continent.

Entrée libre

Inscrivez-vous ici

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on Twitter

4aNESC_Logo

Pour un nouveau contrat social europeen

House of European History, Bruxelles, Belgique
S’inspirant des précédentes initiatives d’EUNIC Bruxelles, «European Angst» et «Sweating for Europe», ce cycle, composé de quatre tables rondes, a pour ambition de repenser un nouveau contrat social qui prendrait en compte les particularités de notre monde d’aujourd’hui.
WSABD3x828555

Go-Comission: Sonya Lindfors & Maryan Abdulkarim – We Should All Be Dreaming

13 octobre 2018
Beursschouwburg
En cette année 2018, l’Institut culturel finlandais pour le Benelux a prévu de commander en partenariat avec le Zodiak Center for New Dance d’Helsinki, le Festival de Danse Spring d’Utrecht et le Festival Baltic Circle une œuvre nouvelle à la chorégraphe Sonya Lindfors et à la journaliste et militante des droits civiques Maryan Abdulkarim. Leur travail créatif combinera ateliers, conférences et représentations d’un spectacle chorégraphique, le tout permettant à des militants des droits civiques d’unir leurs forces et de faire part du regard qu’ils portent sur l’avenir, y compris en exprimant des points de vue pouvant être radicaux et utopiques. Lindfors et Abdulkarim travaillent en lien étroit avec différents acteurs œuvrant pour la défense des droits de l’homme basés tant à Utrecht qu’à Bruxelles et à Helsinki.
EdgarLarsen (5) 828x555
Cirque

TelepART: Sisus

24 et 25 août 2018
Lieve Vrouwekerkhof, Amersfoort, Pays-Bas
La compagnie de cirque finlandaise Sisus débarque aux Pays-Bas pour s’y produire les 24 et 25 août au Festival Spoffin de théâtre de rue dans le cadre de sa prochaine tournée européenne. Sisus présentera à cette occasion Mosh Split, un spectacle de 45 minutes destiné à être présenté en plein air faisant appel à une structure en treillis de 9,5 mètres de haut. Cette représentation débordante d’énergie donne à voir un nombre incroyable de numéros de cirque tant au sol que dans les airs : trapèze, mosh, corde raide, acrobatie avec partenaire, démonstrations d’esprit de groupe, humour et girl power. Le spectacle s’articule autour d’un mobil-home d’où l’on voit sortir successivement des personnages plus surprenants les uns que les autres au milieu d’effets visuels toujours plus décoiffants. Les tenues de scène des artistes sont en papier toilette, tandis que leurs coiffures ont été finalisées en leur donnant un coup d’aspirateur.
cock pic 1 credit Nellie de Boer 828x555

TelepART: Samira Elagoz

8 et 9 août 2018
Tampere Theatre Festival, Finlande
Cock, Cock.. Who’s There? est un documentaire-performance dérangeant, touchant et très personnel qui met en scène l’enquête d’une jeune femme sur l’intimité des êtres et la violence à laquelle ils sont confrontés. Samira Elagoz emmène le public à la découverte de plateformes en ligne comme Tinder et Chatroulette. A travers les rencontres qu’elle donne à voir, elle fait partager au spectateur son voyage personnel vers la redécouverte de la force enfouie en elle, l’expression autonome de sa sexualité et ses tentatives d’établir des passerelles avec le pôle masculin.

Institut Culturel Finlandais pour le Benelux
rue de l’Arbre 14/3
1000 Bruxelles
Belgique

Abonnez-vous à notre lettre d'information