Our society
  • sotilaita4_kuva_Pirita_Männikkö
Our society
2016-2017
Benelux countries and Finland

Photo: Pirita Männikkö

Culture is a force that holds society together. Society also places many expectations on the instrumental value of the arts, whether one thinks of the economy, peacekeeping, healthcare or education. Although the strength of the arts lies foremost in individual and personal encounters, their societal value has once again gained importance both in Finland as well as the Benelux countries. Terror attacks, the future of refugees, the polarisation of the current discussion climate, environmental issues and the global political situation affect us all.

 

The ‘Our society’ programme speaks to practitioners within the arts and the role of culture both in our target countries as well as in broader Europe. Part of the overall programme was realised in the spring of 2016 together with the Finnish Institute in London with, amongst others, a report on the coverage of the refugee issue by the media. In 2017, we will be dealing with the theme of homelessness as part of the MOBILE HOME 2017 collaborative project. We are also inviting members of the European Parliament to sweat it out on behalf of Europe in a deeply cleansing discussion series.

 

This theme will run through all the Institute’s activities. Our aim is to play an active, open and interactive part in present-day society.

 

Collaborating with us on the ‘Our society’ programme events are amongst others ArtHelsinki, BOZAR, Castrum Pregrini, EUNIC Brussels, Equama, the European Parliament, the European Federation for Journalists, Frame Contemporary Art Finland, the Finnish Institutes in Berlin, London, the Middle East and Paris, the Union of Journalists in Finland and the Finnish Evangelical Lutheran Mission.

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on Twitter

RELATED EVENTS

Finnish Cultural Institute for the Benelux
Boomstraat 14/3
1000 Brussels
Belgium

Receive our newsletter

Notre Société
  • sotilaita4_kuva_Pirita_Männikkö
Notre Société
2016-2017
Pays de Benelux et Finlande

Photo: Pirita Männikkö

La culture est une force qui soude l’ensemble de la collectivité. La valeur instrumentale que constitue l’art est elle aussi l’objet de nombreuses attentes au sein de la société, qu’il s’agisse de l’économie, des efforts pour le maintien de la paix, de la santé ou de l’éducation. Même si l’art trouve sa signification essentielle à travers une expérience avant tout individuelle et personnelle, son importance dans la société n’a cessé une nouvelle fois de croître tant en Finlande que dans les pays du Benelux. Les frappes terroristes, le devenir des réfugiés, la polarisation du débat public, les questions environnementales et la situation politique mondiale nous touchent les uns comme les autres.

Le programme Notre Société se focalise sur le rôle des acteurs des arts et celui de la culture tant dans les quatre pays relevant de notre champ d’action que d’une façon plus générale en Europe. Dans le cadre de ce programme, nous avions réalisé au printemps 2016 avec l’Institut finlandais de Londres notamment un rapport sur le thème du traitement médiatique réservé au sort des réfugiés en Europe. En 2017, nous nous concentrerons sur le thème du sans-abrisme dans le droit fil de notre projet coopératif MOBILE HOME 2017. Nous inviterons également les parlementaires européens à transpirer pour l’Europe dans une série d’entretiens visant à aller au fond des choses.

 

Ce thème traverse l’ensemble de l’action de l’Institut. Nous souhaitons être un acteur actif, ouvert et initiateur de débats au sein de la société contemporaine.

Participeront aux événements programmés dans le cadre du programme Notre Société entre autres ArtHelsinki, BOZAR, Castrum Peregrini, EUNIC Bruxelles, Equama, le Parlement européen, la Fédération Internationale des Journalistes, l’organisme Frame Contemporary Art Finland, les Instituts finlandais de Berlin, Londres, Paris et du Proche-Orient, le syndicat The Union of Journalists in Finland et la Société des missions finlandaises.

 

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on Twitter

EVENEMENTS EN LIEN AVEC LE PROJET

Institut Culturel Finlandais pour le Benelux
rue de l’Arbre 14/3
1000 Bruxelles
Belgique

Abonnez-vous à notre lettre d'information